

PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELASE April 24, 2008

FOR MORE INFORMATION

Sana F. Shtasel/202-724-9270 Peter Ames Eveleth/202-724-9249

MEMBERS HONORED WITH CONGRESSIONAL SAFETY AWARDS

Washington, DC - The Office of Compliance presented thirty-seven Members of Congress the Congressional Safety Award during an awards ceremony held today. These offices had no health and safety hazards during the 110th Congress.

"It is an honor to recognize those exemplary Members who maintained hazard-free offices during the 110th Congress. These 12 Senators and 25 Representatives have done an outstanding job of assuring that their workplaces are safe for staff and for the public. I am delighted to present them with the Congressional Office of Compliance Safety Award," said Peter Ames Eveleth, General Counsel of the OOC.

Representative Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Chair of the House Appropriations Subcommittee on the Legislative Branch, was among the many dignitaries on hand for the ceremony. "I applaud those offices who have both improved health and safety over the last year and supported the growth and effectiveness of the OOC," noted Representative Wasserman Schultz.

William O'Connell, Executive Director, Government Affairs of the National Safety Council, which cosponsored the awards ceremony, said, "The National Safety Council welcomes the Office of Compliance's efforts to facilitate a culture of safety through this recognition of Congressional members who have shown in their own offices that safety is a priority."

"Today is an exciting day for the Office of Compliance as we recognize the impressive efforts of those Congressional offices ensuring employees a safe and hazard-free working environment," stated Susan S. Robfogel, Chair, Board of Directors of the Office of Compliance. "It is a great leap forward both by the OOC in fulfilling its statutory mandate and by the Congress, with 37 awardees recognized by contrast with 7 last Congress."

The Office of Compliance advances safety, health and workplace rights in the U.S. Congress and the Legislative Branch. Established as an independent agency by the Congressional Accountability Act of 1995, the Office educates employees and employing offices about the rights and responsibilities under the Act, provides an impartial dispute resolution process and investigates and remedies safety and health violations of the Act.

###

Office of Compliance

PRESS RELEASE

Award recipients include:

- Senator Jeff Bingaman
- Senator Barbara Boxer
- Senator Sherrod Brown
- Senator Thomas Carper
- Senator Robert P. Casey
- Senator Tom Harkin
- Senator Tim Johnson
- Senator Amy Klobuchar
- Senator Blanche Lincoln
- Senator Claire McCaskill
- Senator Jon Tester
- Senator John Thune
- Representative Norman D. Dicks
- Representative Chaka Fattah
- Representative Vito Fossella
- Representative Elton Gallegly
- Representative Wayne Gilchrest
- Representative William Jefferson
- Representative Peter King
- Representative Ron Klein
- Representative Michael T. McCaul
- Representative Jim McCrery
- Representative James P. McGovern
- Representative Cathy McMorris Rodgers
- Representative Jerry McNerney
- Representative Gary G. Miller
- Representative Christopher Murphy
- Representative Bill Pascrell, Jr.
- Representative John E. Peterson
- Representative Nick J. Rahall, II
- Representative Lucille Roybal-Allard
- Representative John T. Salazar
- Representative Ellen Tauscher
- Representative Bennie Thompson
- Representative Mac Thornberry
- Representative Niki Tsongas
- Representative Peter Welch