

PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

February 23, 2010

FOR MORE INFORMATION

John Isa, Deputy Executive Director 202-724-9250 jisa@loc.gov

OSHA COMPLIANCE SURGES ON CAPITOL HILL AS MEMBERS FOCUS ON SAFETY FOR THEIR EMPLOYEES, VISITORS 154 Members to Receive Safe Office Awards, 74% Increase From 110th Congress

Washington, DC - Capitol Hill offices are substantially safer this Congress than in the past as Congressional Members have voluntarily abated safety and health hazards that were putting their employees and visitors in their offices at risk, according to the Office of Compliance, an independent agency established by the Congressional Accountability Act of 1995 ("CAA") to administer and enforce safety and workplace rights laws in Congress. The Occupational Health and Safety Act ("OSHA") was made applicable for the first time to Congress with the passage of the CAA.

"In the past, we've found serious fire hazards such as blocked sprinkler heads, stacks of paper on heaters, fire doors obstructed by furniture, and outlets with exposed live wires. We are not talking about paper cuts, or too many extension cords strung together in a daisy chain. We are talking about serious hazards that have plagued Congressional offices for years," said Peter Ames Eveleth, General Counsel of the Office of Compliance.

Eveleth also said that Members are serious about setting an example that they will live by the laws that regulate other employers. "Many Members are not only concerned with the safety of their employees and visitors, but they also want to send a message to employers and employees in their states and districts that Congress will live by the laws that apply to employers in the private sector and the Executive Branch."

Tamara Chrisler, Executive Director of the Office of Compliance, also credited heightened awareness and compliance not only among Congressional Members, but also among House and Senate Employment Counsel and workers in the Architect of the Capitol's office. "It's really a collective effort that serves as a role model for effectively reducing OSHA hazards. AOC workers and Employment Counsel, working in conjunction with Members, have played a substantial and leading role in instilling a culture of safety in the Legislative Branch. The increase in awards this Congress is a real tribute to their concentrated efforts across Capitol Hill to make the Congressional workplace safer for everyone."

The Office of Compliance will partner with the National Safety Council on March 3, 2010, to present Safe Office Awards to 64 Senators and 90 Representatives with hazard-free offices during the 111th Congress. The 154 Members who achieved Safe Office Awards represents a five-fold increase since 2008, when only 37 Members received the award, and a forty-fold rise since the awards program was instituted in 2006, when only 7 Members received the award. To receive a Safe Office Award, a Member must abate all safety and health hazards in his or her Capitol Hill office. "Our program is simple. It requires zero OSHA hazards to receive the award," said Eveleth.

Senator Jon Tester, a two-time Safe Office Award winner, will be the keynote speaker at the March 3rd ceremony, which will be held from 1:00-3:00 PM in the Dirksen Senate Office Building Auditorium, Room SD-G50. The event is open to the press and public.

See attached list of award recipients

SENATE – AWARD RECEPIENTS

Daniel Akaka (HI)	Mike Johanns (NE)
Lamar Alexander (TN)	Tim Johnson (SD)
Mark Begich (AK)	Ted Kaufman (DE)
Michael Bennet (CO)	Edward Kennedy (MA)
Robert Bennett (UT)	Amy Klobuchar (MN)
Jeff Bingaman (NM)	Herb Kohl (WI)
Barbara Boxer (CA)	Jon Kyl (AZ)
Sherrod Brown (OH)	Mary Landrieu (LA)
Robert Byrd (WV)	Frank Lautenberg (NJ)
Benjamin Cardin (MD)	Carl Levin (MI)
Robert Casey (PA)	Joseph Lieberman (CT)
Thad Cochran (MS)	Blanche Lincoln (AR)
Susan Collins (ME)	Richard Lugar (IN)
Bob Corker (TN)	John McCain (AZ)
Mike Crapo (ID)	Claire McCaskill (MO)
Jim DeMint (SC)	Barbara Mikulski (MD)
Byron Dorgan (ND)	Lisa Murkowski (AK)
Richard Durbin (IL)	Patty Murray (WA)
Michael Enzi (WY)	Ben Nelson (NE)
Russ Feingold (WI)	Bill Nelson (FL)
Dianne Feinstein (CA)	Jack Reed (RI)
Al Franken (MN)	Pat Roberts (KS)
Kirsten Gillibrand (NY)	John D. Rockefeller IV (WV)
Lindsey Graham (SC)	Charles Schumer (NY)
Charles Grassley (IA)	Jeff Sessions (AL)
Judd Gregg (NH)	Jon Tester (MT)
Kay Hagan (NC)	John Thune (SD)
Orrin Hatch (UT)	Tom Udall (NM)
Kay Bailey Hutchison (TX)	George Voinovich (OH)
James Inhofe (OK)	Mark Warner (VA)
Daniel Inouye (HI)	Jim Webb (VA)
Johnny Isakson (GA)	Roger Wicker (MS)

HOUSE – AWARD RECEPIENTS

Robert Aderholt (4-AL) Rodney Alexander (5-LA) Melissa Bean (8-IL) Earl Blumenauer (3-OR) Roy Blunt (7-MO) Mary Bono Mack (45-CA) Madeleine Bordallo (GU) Rick Boucher (9-VA) Steve Buyer (4-IN) John Campbell (48-CA) Anh "Joseph" Cao (2-LA) Kathy Castor (11-FL) Jason Chaffetz (3-UT) Lacy Clay (1-MO) Gerald E. Connolly (11-VA) Jerry Costello (12-IL) Ander Crenshaw (4-FL) Elijah E. Cummings (7-MD) Kathy Dahlkemper (3-PA) Lincoln Davis (4-TN) Nathan Deal (9-GA)

Eni F.H. Faleomavaega (AS) Chaka Fattah (2-PA) Bob Filner (51-CA) Elton Gallegly (24-CA) Jim Gerlach (6-PA) Bart Gordon (6-TN) Kay Granger (12-TX) Gene Green (29-TX) Maurice Hinchey (22-NY) Ruben Hinojosa (15-TX) Mazie Hirono (2-HI) Darrell E. Issa (49-CA) Sheila Jackson-Lee (18-TX) Paul E. Kanjorski (11-PA)

Marcy Kaptur (9-OH) Patrick Kennedy (1-RI)

Bill Delahunt (10-MA)

Charles Dent (15-PA)

David Dreier (26-CA) John J. Duncan, Jr. (2-TN)

Chet Edwards (17-TX)

Vernon J. Ehlers (3-MI)

Jo Ann Emerson (8-FL)

Keith Ellison (5-MN)

Lincoln Diaz-Balart (21-FL)

Peter King (3-NY) Dennis Kucinich (10-OH) Doug Lamborn (5-CO) Leonard Lance (7-NJ) Barbara Lee (9-CA) Frank LoBiondo (2-NJ) Daniel B. Maffei (25-NY) Betsy Markey (4-CO) Carolyn McCarthy (4-NY) James P. McGovern (3-MA) Patrick T. McHenry (10-NC) Mike McIntyre (7-NC) John L. Mica (7-FL) Brad Miller (13-NC) Jeff Miller (1-FL)

Richard E. Neal (2-MA) Ed Pastor (4-AZ) Ron Paul (14-TX) Gary Peters (9-MI) Collin C. Peterson (7-MN) George Radanovich (19-CA) Nick J. Rahall II (3-WV) Denny Rehberg (MT) Harold Rogers (5-KY) Thomas J. Rooney (16-FL) Edward R. Royce (40-CA) Tim Ryan (17-OH) Kurt Schrader (5-OR) Heath Shuler (11-NC)

Adam Smith (9-WA) Lamar Smith (21-TX) Mac Thornberry (13-TX) Patrick J. Tiberi (12-OH) John F. Tierney (6-MA) Paul D. Tonko (21-NY) Edolphus Towns (10-NY)

Debbie Wasserman Schultz (20-FL)

Peter Welch (VT) Lynn A. Westmoreland (3-GA)

Lynn A. Woolsey (6-CA) David Wu (1-OR) John Yarmuth (3-KY) C.W. Bill Young (10-FL)

Don Young (AK)